UNESCO Human Rights Chairs

UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs are contributing to the promotion of education in human rights, democracy, peace, tolerance, international understanding and development of research on obstacles and threats to the implementation of all human rights - civil, cultural, economic, political and social rights.

Currently the network comprises about 60 Chairs from all regions of the world. The overall aim of the network is to establish and strengthen academic co-operation at national, sub-regional, regional and world-wide levels, to promote all human rights and to contribute to the consolidation of peace, democracy and tolerance. This network also seeks to reinforce capacities for education and research - especially in developing countries and countries in transition towards democracy.

The Forum of the Chairholders was created at the First International Meeting of UNESCO Chairs in Human Rights, Democracy, Peace and Tolerance held in April 1998 in Stadtschlaining, Austria. Its purpose is to enhance the cooperation between the Chairs through a regular exchange of information, research results, education programmes, materials and publications and to make use of the facilities provided by new information technologies.

UNITWIN is the abbreviation for the University twinning and networking scheme. Established in 1992, the Programme has been conceived as a way to advance research, training and programme development in higher education by building university networks and encouraging inter-university cooperation through transfer of knowledge across borders.


Back to top