COMEST Members

Mr Khalid Abdullah al-Ali (Qatar, 2nd term ended 31 December 2013), President of COMEST, is an Associate Professor of Human Genetics in the Department of Biological Science and the Director of the Foundation Programme of Qatar University. He is a Member of the Arab Ethics Committee for Science and Technology.

Mr Rajaona Andriamananjara (Madagascar, 2nd term ends 31 December 2015), Vice-President of COMEST, is an economist. He is the President of the Madagascar Academy of Science, Arts and Letters and also the President of the newly founded Madagascar Committee on Ethics of Science and Technology.

Mr Philippe Busquin (Belgium, 2nd term ends 31 December 2015) is a nuclear physicist. A former Minister, he was formerly a member of the European Parliament, where he chaired the Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA). He served as European Commissioner for Research (1999-2004).

Mr Dai Jianwu (People’s Republic of China, 1st term ended 31 December 2013) is Professor and Associate Director of the Center of Molecular Development Biology, Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology of the Chinese Academy of Science.

Mr Hong Sungook (Republic of Korea, 1st term ends 31 December 2015) is a Professor in the Department of Biological Science Program in History and Philosophy of Science, College of Natural Sciences, Seoul National University. He is a Member of the Council of the Society for the History of Technology, 2011-2013.

Mr Rainier A. Ibana (Philippines, 1st term ended 31 December 2013) has served for nine years as Chair of the Philosophy Department of the Ateneo de Manila University and as Chair of the Philippine Commission for Higher Education’s Technical Committee for Philosophy. He is also a Commissioner of the Philippine National Commission for UNESCO.

Mr Justice M. Jagannadha Rao (India, 1st term ended 31 December 2013) is one of India’s most renowned legal scholars. He is the former Chairman of the Law Commission of India, a former Chief Justice of Kerala and Delhi High Courts, and a former judge of the Supreme Court of India.

Ms Tafeeda Jarbawi (Palestine, 2nd term ended 31 December 2013) has Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry with 30 years of teaching, research and management experience. She is currently the Director General of the nongovernmental Swiss and Palestinian registered Welfare Association.

Mr Workineh Kelbessa Golga (Ethiopia, 1st term ends 31 December 2015) is Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia. He is a former Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and a member of the executive committee of the International Development Ethics Association and the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal Environmental Ethics.

Ms Marta Kollárová (Slovak Republic, 2nd term ended 31 December 2013) is a Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and is currently the Head of the department of Biochemistry of the Faculty of Natural Sciences, Comenius University, and Bratislava, Slovakia. She is also Vice-Rector for doctoral study.

Mr Jürgen Mittelstraß (Germany, 1st term ended 31 December 2013) is sometime Professor of Philosophy and Philosophy of Science at the University of Constance. He is a Member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, President of the Academia Europaea (London) and Chairman of the Austrian Science Council.

Mr Luka Omladič (Slovenia, 1st term ends 31 December 2015) is a lecturer at the University of Ljubljana and President of the Slovenian Philosophical Society.

Ms Marie-Hélène Parizeau (Canada, 1st term ends 31 December 2015) is a Professor at the Faculty of Philosophy of the Université Laval (Québec City). She has led the Groupe de recherche en éthique médicale et environnementale since 1987.

Mr Henry S. Richardson (United States of America, 1st term ended 31 December 2013), rapporteur of COMEST, is Professor of Philosophy at Georgetown University and Editor of Ethics.

Mr Abdoulaye Sene (Senegal, 1st term ends 31 December 2015). He is an environmental sociologist and currently the coordinator of the research and learning Unit "Ethics, Governance, Environmental and Social Responsibility" within the Environmental Sciences Institute at Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar and chairperson of the African Francophone Group of environmental Ethics.

Mrs Susana Sommer (Argentina, 2nd term ends 31 December 2015) is a Biologist. Professor in Bioethics in Science at the Facultad de Ciencias Exactas (Faculty of Exact Sciences), University of Buenos Aires. She is Member of the Advisory Board on Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine at the Ministry of Science and Technology, Argentina, since 2006. Her books and articles show her concern for ethical aspects of assisted reproduction, biotechnology and women´s issues.

Mrs Hebe Vessuri (Venezuela, 2nd term ends 31 December 2015), Vice-President of COMEST, is a social anthropologist at the Venezuelan Institute of Scientific Research and has been active in the field of science and society for almost 30 years.

One position remains vacant since the member proposed for appointment declined the Director-General’s invitation on health grounds. An appointment will be made in due course.

Ex-officio Members of the Commission

Mr Stefano Semplici
Chairperson - International Bioethics Committee of UNESCO (IBC)
Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (IGBC)

Mr Adama Samassekou
International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies (ICPHS)

Mr Yuan Tseh Lee
Chairperson - International Council for Science (ICSU)

Mr Sang-Kyung Byun
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC)

Ms Olive Shisana
Chairperson - International Social Science Council (ISSC)

Ms Boshra Salem
Chairperson - Programme on Man and the Biosphere (MAB)

Ms Alicia Kirchner
Chairperson - Management of Social Transformations Programme (MOST)

Mr Johannes Cullmann
Chairperson - International Hydrological Programme (IHP) - Intergovernmental Council

Ms Patricia Vickers-Rich
Chairperson - International Geoscience Programme (IGCP)

Mr Jayantha Dhanapala
Chairperson - Pugwash Conference on Science and World Affairs

Back to top