21.07.2011 - Social and Human Sciences Sector

Call for Nominations - 2011 UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence

UNESCO calls for nominations for the 2011 UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence. It is awarded every two years to individuals, institutions and other entities or non-governmental organizations that have made exceptional contributions and demonstrated leadership in the promotion of tolerance and non-violence. The closing date for submissions is 9 September 2011 at midnight.

The Prize was created in 1995 on the occasion of the United Nations Year for Tolerance and the 125th anniversary of the birth of Mahatma Gandhi, thanks to the generosity of the Indian writer and diplomat Madanjeet Singh, who is also UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador.

The Prize carries a monetary award of USD 100,000. Winners also receive a certificate highlighting the major contributions for which it is awarded. The awardees are officially recognized at a ceremony that is held at UNESCO Headquarters on the International Day for Tolerance, celebrated every year on 16 November, at which they are invited to deliver an acceptance speech.

Member States or Associate Members of UNESCO, non-governmental organizations and foundations that maintain official relations with UNESCO, especially those whose activities fall within the scope of the Prize, as well as former laureates of the Prize, qualified eminent personalities and any suitable person or civil society organization working for the advancement of a culture of peace, human rights, non-violence and tolerance in the world are invited to nominate candidates.

According to its Statutes, candidates should be men, women, institutions or non-governmental organizations that have distinguished themselves through particularly remarkable initiatives extending over several years to promote the understanding and solution of international or national problems in a spirit of tolerance and non-violence.

The name of the prizewinner will be announced in October 2011. The 2011 award ceremony will be held at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris on 16 November 2011.

The nomination form must be completed in either English or French. You are
kindly requested to return it, duly signed and stamped, and no later than
9 September 2011.

The recommendation concerning the nominee, contained in paragraph 3 of the nomination form, should be concise. Additional materials (publications, video, audio and other teaching materials, etc.) may be attached to the nomination form.

Ms Angela Melo
Secretary of the Prize
Director of the Division of Human Rights, Philosophy and Democracy
Social and Human Sciences Sector - UNESCO
1 rue Miollis 75732 Paris Cedex 15 France
Tel.: +33 (0)1 45 68 38 17 / ext. 38 31 / ext. 38 22
Fax: +33(0)1 45 68 57 26
E-mail: a.melo(at)unesco.org, cc: a.schischlik(at)unesco.org, i.zoubenko-laplante(at)unesco.org

<- Back to:
Back to top