General History of Africa - Volume II - Ancient civilizations of Africa

Vol. II: Table of Contents

Volume II of the UNESCO General History of Africa deals with the period beginning at the close of the Neolithic era, from around the eighth millennium before our era.

This period of some nine thousand years of history has been sub-divided into four major geographical zones, following the pattern of African historical research.

Chapters 1 to 12 cover the corridor of the Nile, Egypt and Nubia.

Chapters 13 to 16 relate to the Ethiopian highlands.

Chapters 17 to 20 describe the part of Africa later called the Maghrib and its Saharan hinterland, and Chapters 21 to 29, the rest of Africa as well as some of the islands in the Indian Ocean.

By far the largest proportion of Volume II is devoted to the ancient civilization of Egypt because of its pre-eminent place in the early history of Africa.

Each chapter of the volume is copiously illustrated with black and white photographs, maps and figures.

The text is accompanied by footnotes, many of which refer to the extensive bibliography at the end of the book and there is an index.

  • Order Volume II on UNESCO Publishing Online Bookstore

   Order Volume II - Main paperback edition 

   Order Volume II - Abridged paperback edition

Back to top