MOST Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) encompasses 9 internationally recognized experts representing various disciplines in the social sciences, and the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Council (IGC) who attends in an ex-officio capacity.

The SAC functions as a permanent committee. Its specific role is related to programme conceptualization, strategy development and scientific advisory research regarding MOST projects. Members of SAC are appointed in their personal capacity, for a three-year term, renewable once. The SAC takes into consideration the need for equitable geographical distribution, gender equality and the principle of non-payment of honoraria.



  • Prof. Fadia Kiwan
    Professor at the University of Saint-Joseph in Beirut and Director of the Political Science Institute. Member of the Board of the United Nations University


  • Dr Emir Sader
    Director, FLACSO-Brazil, and former Secretary-General of CLACSO


  • Dr Gudmund Hernes
    Researcher at the FAFO Institute in Oslo and Professor at BI Norwegian Business School
  • Dr Maja Gerovska Mitev
    Professor at the Institute of Social Work and Social Policy, Faculty of Philosophy, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Skopje
    The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Dr N’Dri Assié-Lumumba
    Professor at Cornell University, New York
    President of the World Council of Comparative Education Societies (WCCES)
    Former Member of the Scientific Committee of CODESRIA
    Côte d'Ivoire
  • Dr Jomo Kwame Sundaram
    The Institute of Strategic and International Studies
  • Dr Michael Woolcock
    Lead Social Development Specialist in the World Bank Development Research Group and Lecturer in Public Policy at Kennedy School of Government, Harvard
Back to top