11th Meeting of the Scientific Board of the International Basic Sciences Programme of UNESCO

The International Scientific Board of the International Basic Sciences Programme (IBSP) set up within UNESCO, advises on, and monitors the programme activities. Members of the Board, who hail from all regions and major partner organizations, are scientists actively engaged, in their countries, regions or organizations, in activities that relate to the objectives of the IBSP in the basic sciences, science education, science management and the promotion of the international cooperation. Professor Herwig Schopper, former Director-General of CERN, is the elected Chairperson of the Scientific Board. He is a worldrenowned German physicist specialized in nuclear physics, elementary particle physics, accelerator engineering and optics.

Currently opportunities for a limited number of new IBSP initiatives are discussed with UNESCO Member States and partners, associated with the Organization's basic science program.

The IBSP is an international multidisciplinary programme established by UNESCO Member States in order to reinforce intergovernmental cooperation and co-operation between partner organizations in science to strengthen national capacities in the basic sciences and science education. The Programme focuses on fostering major region-specific actions that involve a network of national, regional and international centres of excellence or benchmark centres in the basic sciences. Promoting North-South and South-South co-operation is at the root of the strategy of the Programme that is being carried in partnership with the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS), scientific unions of the International Council for Science (ICSU), the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) and other science centres, IGOs and NGOs.


Type of Event Category 5-Advisory Committee
Start 20.03.2018 09:00 local time
End 21.03.2018 19:00 local time
Date to be fixed 1
Focal point Ngome Abiaga, Juste Jean-Paul
Country France
City Paris
Permanent Delegation Contact
Major Programme
Language of Event English, French
Estimated number of participants 70
Official Website IBSP
Link 1
Link 2
Link 3
Link 4