L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards Ceremony

Since 1998 the L’Oréal-UNESCO Award For Women in Science (FWIS) recognize outstanding achievements of eminent women scientists. Each year, five Laureates - one per each of the following regions: Africa & the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America - are awarded for their role and contribution to the advancement of science, in alternating years in Life Science and Physical Sciences.

The 2018 edition will mark the 20th anniversary of the Award. The five Laureates in life sciences are from Argentina, Canada, China, South Africa, and the United Kingdom.


Type of Event Prize-giving ceremony
Start 22.03.2018 18:30 local time
End 22.03.2018 20:30 local time
Date to be fixed 0
Focal point Fernandez Polcuch, Ernesto
Contact Annapaola Coppola ap.coppola@unesco.org
Country France
City Paris
Venue UNESCO Headquarters
Street 7, place de Fontenoy
Room Room I
Permanent Delegation Contact
Major Programme
Language of Event English, French
Estimated number of participants 1000
Official Website
Link 1 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Programme
Link 2 For Women in Science official website
Link 3
Link 4