Meeting of the Ministers of the Nine High-population Countries (E-9)

The E-9 Initiative was launched in 1993 by UNESCO at the EFA Summit of the Nine High-Population Countries. On that occasion, Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and Pakistan committed to achieving the Education for All (EFA) goals.

Since then the E-9 has become a forum for its members to discuss their experiences, exchange best practices and monitor progress in the field. It has also become a powerful driver for EFA and South-South Cooperation.

The E-9 countries are currently implementing the activities pledged at the Eighth Ministerial Review Meeting on EFA, held in Abuja, Nigeria (June 2010), which focused on the theme of ‘Literacy for Development’.


Type of Event Category 2-Intergovernmental meeting
Start 29.10.2011 09:00 local time
End 29.10.2011 12:00 local time
Date to be fixed 0
Focal point Detzel, Sabine
Organizer UNESCO
Country France
City Paris
Venue Paris Headquarters
Room Room VIII
Permanent Delegation Contact
Major Programme
Language of Event English, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic
Estimated number of participants 45
Official Website
Link 1 E9 Initiative
Link 2
Link 3
Link 4