General Conditions of the Prize

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize is annually granted owing to the following conditions:

Periodicity and Value

Presided by Mr Mário Soares, the Jury confers this international distinction each year. The winner of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize receives a cheque for US $150,000, a gold medal and a peace diploma signed by the Director-General of UNESCO.

Nomination of candidates

Each year the Director-General sends a circular letter to all Member States and non-governmental organizations having consultative status with UNESCO, inviting them to submit nominations.

In addition to Member States and the above-mentioned non-governmental organizations, the following may submit nominations:

  • members of the Jury during their deliberations ;
  • previous winners of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize ;
  • academies or academicians ;
  • centres and foundations specialized in areas relating to the search of peace ;
  • institutes of international law ;
  • members of the International Court of Justice ;
  • members of parliaments and governments ;
  • associations or organizations working to promote peace, human rights and the spread of democratic values in the world, with due respect for the constitution of UNESCO and the Charter of the United Nations ;
  • university rectors and university professor of history, political sciences and law ;
  • Nobel Peace prize-winners.
Back to top