International Day of Tolerance

On this occasion, the names of laureates of the UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence 2011 will be announced.

This biennial Prize, established through the generous donation of the UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador Madanjeet Singh, Indian artist, writer and diplomat, honors his lifelong commitment to the cause of peace and tolerance.

The creation of the Prize in 1995 marked the United Nations Year for Tolerance and the 125th anniversary of the birth of Mahatma Gandhi. The Prize rewards significant activities in the scientific, artistic, cultural or communication fields aimed at the promotion of a spirit of tolerance and non-violence.

Member States or Associate Members of UNESCO, as well as international non-governmental organizations and foundations that maintain official relations with UNESCO, especially those whose activities fall within the scope of the Award, are invited to submit nominations. Candidates may be institutions, organizations or persons who have contributed in a particularly meritorious and effective manner to tolerance and non-violence (Articles 3 and 6 of the Statutes of the Prize).


Type of Event Prize-giving ceremony
Start 16.11.2011 13:00 local time
End 16.11.2011 13:00 local time
Date to be fixed 0
Focal point Melo, Angela
Country France
City Paris
Permanent Delegation Contact
Major Programme
Language of Event
Estimated number of participants
Official Website UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence
Link 1
Link 2
Link 3
Link 4