National Multi-Hazard Early Warning System (NMHEWS)

After the tragic tsunami on the 26th December 2004 in the Indian Ocean region, UNESCO set an interim tsunami advisory information system under the aegis of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), in cooperation with the Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre (PTWC) in Hawaii and the Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA) in Tokyo.

© UNESCO/ Torben Brandt

In October 2009, UNESCO signed an agreement with the Sultanate of Oman for 2 years to establish the Oman’s National Multi-hazard Early Warning System (NMHEWS), the first one for the Indian Ocean. The agreement follows IOC Group’s recommendations. An expert mission was sent to the Sultanate in September 2008 to provide guidance on the development and implementation of the Oman’s National Multi-hazard Early Warning System (NMHEWS).

UNESCO will provide all its technical know-how:

  • Expertise in staff training;
  • Network of coastal sea level gauges;
  • Tsunameters and sea level measurements;
  • Network of seismic sensors;
  • Communication systems for warning dissemination in real time;
  • Software and modelling, educational and public awareness material.

© NOAA/ Emily B. Christman

UNESCO’s action will be conducted through technical missions, workshops and training activities and a Project coordinator will be based in Muscat, Oman.  

Sultanate of Oman will finance, support and provide appropriate assistance to the project.

Back to top