The representatives of 37 countries met in London in 1945 and on November 16 signed UNESCO’s Constitution. A year later, after ratification by 20 signatories on November 4, 1946, the Constitution came into force and UNESCO was born. When the Organization celebrated its 20th anniversary in 1966, it issued its first-ever commemorative medal, following a decision of the Executive Board at its 74th session. The medal features a modern design by Swedish medallist Siv Holme Muse who, 30 years later, would also design UNESCO’s Niels Bohr medal.

Following the same abstract style of parallel and crisscrossing lines, this medal was exceptionally struck in three different designs and three graduated sizes and weights, the smallest being in gilded bronze (diameter 65 mm), silver (100 mm) and the largest in copper (120 mm). They are also irregular in thickness and in the roundness of their shapes.

Out of stock

Back to top