The Director-General of UNESCO, Koïchiro Matsuura, awarded for the first time the UNESCO Sergei Eisenstein Medal to film actor Omar Sharif in a ceremony at the Paris Headquarters on November 24, 2005.

The medal, bearing the likeness and signature of world cinema giant Sergei Eisenstein, is awarded at the discretion of the Director-General to deserving individuals from the world of cinematography for their contribution to cultural diversity and a dialogue among peoples.

Struck in Russia, the number of medals has been limited to 25 and will be attributed over an indefinite period of time, in terms of the cooperation agreement that led to the creation of the medal. This agreement was concluded in May 2005 between UNESCO, the Russian film company Mosfilm and the Russian Vivat Foundation for music and the theatre.

Eisenstein, the Russian film director, gave us his theory of film montage where images are meant to create maximum psychological effect. To this day, three of his most famous works remain as major references in the history of world cinema: Potemkin (1925), Alexander Nevsky (1938) and Ivan the Terrible (1944-46).

Not for sale.

Back to top