UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation

This prestigious Prize has been established through a generous donation to UNESCO by His Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al-Said, Oman. The objective of the Prize is to afford recognition to outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment, consistent with the policies, aims and objectives of UNESCO, and in relation to the Organization's programmes in this field. The Prize, which is provided on a biennual basis, consists of a diploma together with a financial reward.

UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science

The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is an international distinction created by UNESCO in 1951 following a donation from Mr Bijoyanand Patnaik, Founder and President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust in India. The purpose of the Prize is to reward the efforts of a person who has had a distinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help interpret science, research and technology to the wider public.

UNESCO L'Oréal Prize for Women in Science

For the past 14 years, UNESCO and the L’Oréal Corporate Foundation have sought to recognise women researchers who, through the scope of their work, have contributed to overcoming the global challenges of tomorrow. Each year, the For Women in Science Programme highlights scientific excellence and encourages talent through the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards, given each year to five outstanding women scientists – one per continent – for the contributions of their research, the strength of their commitments and their impact on society.

UNESCO Juan Bosch Prize for the Promotion of Social Science Research in Latin America and the Caribbean

Created in 2009 with the support of the Government of the Dominican Republic, the purpose of this Prize is to reward social science research work by young researchers in Latin America and the Caribbean which has contributed to stronger research-policy linkages. The Prize, awarded every two years, consists of a sum of US $10,000 which may be divided equally among a maximum of three prizewinners.

UNESCO Avicenna Prize for Ethics in Science

Established by the Executive Board of UNESCO on the initiative of the Islamic Republic of Iran, this Prize, awarded every two years, is intended to reward the activities of individuals and groups in the field of ethics in science. By promoting ethical reflection on issues raised by advances in science and technology, it is expected to help significantly to increase international awareness and highlight the importance of ethics in science.

Back to top