07.02.2009 -

Southeastern European Network in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics (SEENET-MTP )


Recognizing the necessity and importance of providing a framework for the institutional capacity-building in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics that would cover different educational levels in Science, education and bridge the gap between Southeastern and Western European scientific community, the SEENET-MTP stems from the BW2003 WORKSHOP Mathematical, Theoretical and Phenomenological Challenges Beyond the Standard Model: PERSPECTIVES OF BALKANS COLLABORATION sponsored by the UNESCO Office in Venice and held in 2003, in Vrnjacka Banja (Serbia).
The participants of BW2003 WORKSHOP came to a common agreement on the iniative of initiating the mobility-teaching-research "NETWORK IN THEORETICAL AND MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS" of Southeast part of Europe. This, with the goal to establish closer relations between science faculties and research institutes and individual scientists in the region of Southeastern Europe and to improve the teaching in mathematical and theoretical physics on undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as well as, joint scientifical work. See Statement of intention .

Within the period 2004-2007, 12 institutions from 6 countries in the region, 10 partner institutions all over the world, as well 140 individual members joined the SEENET-MTP Network formed. The Network is a natural continuation of Julius Wess' initiative : Scientists for Global Responsibility (“Wissenschaftler in globaler Verantwortung” (WGV)) founded in 1999 to help bring colleagues in Southeast Europe back up to international standards.

The Network Nodes involve 6 Southeastern European countries : Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Romania, Serbia and Turkey. Hereafter the main nodes : Cankaya University, Ankara, Turkey; Faculty of Physics, University of Belgrade, Belgrade, Serbia; Institute of Physics, Center for Theoretical Physics, Belgrade, Serbia; Department of Theoretical Physics, National Institute for Physics and Nuclear Engineering, Bucharest, Romania; Faculty of Physics, University of Craiova, Craiova, Romania; Department of Physics, Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey; Department of Physics, Faculty of Sciences and Mathematics, University of Kragujevac, Kragujevac, Serbia; Department of Physics, Faculty of Sciences and Mathematics, University of Nis, Nis, Serbia; The Institute for Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy (INRNE), Sofia, Bulgaria; Section of Nuclear and Particle Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece; Department of Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences, School of Engineering, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece; Faculty of Physics, The West University of Timisoara, Timisoara, Romania; Department of Theoretical Physics, Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia.

Support to individual participation of the Network members in the following meetings was provided over 2008 : II International School on Modern Trends in Mathematical Physics (Varna, Bulgaria), 6 September 2008 (satellite meeting 4-th EU RTN Workshop); Introductory School on Cosmology ISC2008 (Nis, Serbia), 26 August 2008 ; The National Romanian Conference CNF2008 (Bucuresti, Romania), 10 September 2008; TIM08 (Timisoara, Romania), November 2008
Contact :

Goran Djordjevic
SEENET-MTP coordinator
Department of Physics, University of Nis

Visegradska 33 - P.O. Box 224 - 18001 Nis, Serbia
Phone/Fax:+381 18 274660
e-mail: seenet-mtp(at)pmf.ni.ac.yu; gorandj(at)junis.ni.ac.yu

<- Back to: UNESCO Office in Venice
Back to top