Country Programming

©UNDP Poverty reduction
A family in Albania grandchildren and grandparents

As part of its continuous reform efforts at the country-level, UNESCO cooperates with other UN agencies in creating country programming documents to facilitate the work of the UN in any given country. These documents can take various forms, such as through a Common Country Assessment (CCA), a UNESCO Country Programming Document (UCPD), or a United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF).


A Common Country Assessment (CCA) is primarily an analysis of national priorities, needs and steps remaining for the implementation of UN Declarations, Conventions and the MDGs. The assessment is done in cooperation with other UN agencies and often forms the basis for UNDAFs or other common country programming documents.


UNESCO has elaborated a programming tool known as UNESCO Country Programming Documents (UCPDs) that showcase UNESCO’s activities and cooperation objectives in a particular country. These documents often form the basis for UNESCO’s contribution to an UNDAF document or for unilateral cooperation with the Member State. Within this region, UCPDs have been elaborated for Albania (2009-2010) and the Republic of Moldova (2009-2011), with updated versions as well as those for other countries under preparation.


The United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) is strategic programmatic framework that describes the collective response of the UN Country Team (UNCT) to the priorities in the national development framework - priorities that may have been influenced by the UNCT’s analytical contribution, the CCA. It can take many forms, from a more traditional UNDAF framework, which provides coordinated UN assistance to the country, to the new Delivering as One (DaO) approach, which brings the UN together as “One” in its interactions with the host Government, as well as other versions that are more of a partnership or cooperation framework.

The Regional Bureau for Science and Culture in Europe, Venice (Italy), is participating to UNDAF processes in 7 countries, as well as in a “UNDAF-like” process in Kosovo, in partnership with UNMIK and the local authorities, as understood within the context of UN Security Council Resolution 1244 (1999).  As with most countries around the world, some are following the more traditional UNDAF process for cooperation between the host Government and the UN.

Countries following a traditional UNDAF process:          

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina (2010-2014)
  • The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2010-2015)
  • UN Kosovo Team’s Common Development Plan (2011-2015)

One UN Programmes have been particularly useful because they provide increased attention on cross-cutting issues, both among different agencies and in thematic terms (e.g. gender equality, youth).  Albania, which was one of the 8 original pilot countries for this exercise, is now in its second round of One UN programming and Montenegro is one of the many “self-starter” One UN countries around the globe.

One UN Countries:

  • Albania (UN Programme of Cooperation 2012-2016)
  • Montenegro (Integrated UN Programme 2010-2015)

A new generation of UNDAFs is also emerging in this region which is a mix between the two processes. Upper- middle-income countries like those below have requested the UN to work more in partnership with them, as opposed to receiving development assistance from the UN.

Countries following the “new generation of UNDAFs”:

  • Serbia (UN Country Partnership Strategy 2011-2015)
  • Turkey (UN Development Cooperation Strategy 2011-2015)
  • Ukraine  (UN Partnership Framework 2012-2016)
Back to top