محو الأمية والتنمية المستدامة

إن موضوع اليوم الدولي لمحو الأمية لعام 2014 هو "محو الأمية والتنمية المستدامة". ومحو الأمية إنما يمثل عنصراً من العناصر الأساسية اللازمة لتعزيز التنمية المستدامة، إذ أنه يُمكّن الناس لكي يكون في مقدورهم اتخاذ القرارات الرشيدة في مجالات النمو الاقتصادي والتنمية الاجتماعية والإدماج البيئي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن محو الأمية يُعد بمثابة الدعامة التي يستند إليها التعلم مدى الحياة؛ كما أنه يقوم بدور مؤسس حاسم في بناء مجتمعات تتميز بالاستدامة والازدهار والسلام.  

إن مهارات الإلمام بالقراءة والكتابة التي تتطور من المستويات الأساسية حتى المستويات المتقدمة خلال جميع مراحل الحياة إنما تشكل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من كفاءات أوسع نطاقاً تقتضيها مجالات التفكير النقدي، والشعور بالمسؤولية، والإدارة المتكاملة، والاستهلاك وأنماط الحياة المستدامة، والسلوكيات الإيكولوجية، وحماية التنوع البيولوجي والحد من وطأة الفقر، والحد من مخاطر الكوارث.  

سيتم الاحتفال هذا العام باليوم الدولي لمحو الأمية في جميع أرجاء العالم. أما الاحتفال الرئيسي فسوف يجري في مدينة "دكا"، حيث تنظم حكومة بنغلاديش بالتعاون مع اليونسكو مؤتمراً دولياً تحت عنوان "محو أمية وتعليم الفتيات والنساء: إرساء أسس للتنمية المستدامة ومنح جوائز اليونسكو الدولية لمحو الأمية"، وذلك دعماً للمبادرة العالمية "التعليم أولاً" التي أطلقها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة.

  إن محو الأمية إنما يمثل قوة دافعة رئيسية للتغيير وأداة عملية للتمكين في ما يخص كل دعامة من الدعائم الرئيسية الثلاث التي تستند إليها التنمية المستدامة، وهي: التنمية الاقتصادية، والتنمية الاجتماعية، وحماية البيئة  

كوفي عنان، الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة السابق

ملصق 2014


حمل ملصق اليوم الدولي لمحو الأمية

بالعربية | بالانجليزية | بالفرنسية | بالاسبانية | بالروسية | بالصينية

 

لماذا القرائية مهمة؟

القرائية حق من حقوق الإنسان، وأداة تزود الأشخاص بما يلزمهم من قدرات، ووسيلة لتحقيق التنمية الاجتماعية والبشرية. وتُعد القرائية شرطاً أساسياً للانتفاع بفرص التعليم.

وتقع مسألة القرائية في صميم الجهود المبذولة لتوفير التعليم الأساسي للجميع وهي تؤدي دوراً أساسياً في القضاء على الفقر، وخفض معدلات وفيات الأطفال، والحد من النمو السكاني، وتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين والتنمية المستدامة والسلام والديمقراطية. ولجميع هذه الأسباب، اختير موضوع القرائية ليكون أحد محاور حركة التعليم للجميع.

وتكمن أهمية التعليم الأساسي الجيد في أنه يزود الطلبة بمهارات القرائية التي يحتاجون إليها كي ينعموا بحياة جيدة ويواصلوا تعليمهم. وتؤكد الدراسات أن الآباء المتعلمين هم أكثر عزماً على إرسال أطفالهم إلى المدرسة، وأن الأشخاص المتعلمين هم أكثر قدرةً على الانتفاع بفرص التعليم المستمر، وأن المجتمعات المتعلمة هي أكثر فعاليةً في تلبية الاحتياجات الإنمائية الملحّة.

المعالم البارزة

لمحة عامة عن المعالم البارزة لأنشطة اليونسكو في مجال "محو الأمية لصالح الجميع"، بدءاً من عام 1946 عندما أنشأت المنظمة لجنة لتعزيز "التعليم الأساسي" ووصولاً إلى عام 2003 عندما تولّت اليونسكو قيادة عقد الأمم المتحدة لمحو الأمية (2003-2012). المزيد

تابعنا على


  •          



الرسم البياني لعام 2014

نشرة إعلامية لمعهد اليونسكو للإحصاء

فيديو

المصدر: اليونسكو


المصدر: اليونسكو
المصدر: اليونسكو


المصدر: اليونسكو

Literacy and Sustainable Development

The theme of International Literacy Day 2014 is “Literacy and Sustainable Development”.  Literacy is one of the key elements needed to promote sustainable development, as it empowers people so that they can make the right decisions in the areas of economic growth, social development and environmental integration. Literacy is a basis for lifelong learning and plays a crucial foundational role in the creation of sustainable, prosperous and peaceful societies. 

Literacy skills developed from a basic to advanced level throughout life are part of broader competencies required for critical thinking, the sense of responsibility, participatory governance, sustainable consumption and lifestyles, ecological behaviours, biodiversity protection, poverty reduction, and disaster risk reduction.  

This year’s International Literacy Day will be celebrated worldwide. A main global celebration will take place in Dhaka, where the Government of Bangladesh in cooperation with UNESCO will organize the International Conference on “Girls’ and women’s literacy and education: Foundations for sustainable development and the awarding of UNESCO Literacy Prizes” in support for the UN Secretary General’s Global Education First Initiative (GEFI).

  Literacy is a key lever of change and a practical tool of empowerment on each of the three main pillars of sustainable development: economic development, social development and environmental protection.    

Former UN Secretary-General, Kofi Annan



Poster 2014


Download the Poster (PDF) 
EN | FR | SP | AR | RU | CH

Why is Literacy important?

Literacy is a human right, a tool of personal empowerment and a means for social and human development. Educational opportunities depend on literacy.

Literacy is at the heart of basic education for all, and essential for eradicating poverty, reducing child mortality, curbing population growth, achieving gender equality and ensuring sustainable development, peace and democracy. There are good reasons why literacy is at the core of Education for All (EFA).

A good quality basic education equips pupils with literacy skills for life and further learning; literate parents are more likely to send their children to school; literate people are better able to access continuing educational opportunities; and literate societies are better geared to meet pressing development.

Milestones

Starting from 2003, when UNESCO took the lead of the the United Nations Literacy Decade (2003-2012), and going back to 1946, when UNESCO first established a committee to promote ‘Fundamental Education’, review the major milestones on the road to Literacy for All. More

FOLLOW US


  •          



EVENTS

  • International Conference and UNESCO Literacy Awards Ceremony, 8 September, Dhaka

    Programme (Draft)

    Show all / Hide all

    fold faq

    DELEGATES REGISTRATION (9:00-9:30)

    fold faq

    INAUGURATION & PRESENTATION OF UNESCO LITERACY AWARDS (9:30-11:00)

    fold faq

    SESSION: PLENARY (11:00-13:00 )

    Panel discussion on the global literacy challenge and the importance of focusing on girls and women's literacy and education for sustainable development

    fold faq

    LUNCH BREAK (13:00-14:00)

    fold faq

    SESSION 2: PARALLEL SESSIONS (14:00-16:00)

    • 14:00-16:00 -  Policies, programmes, funding, monitoring, institutional strengthening, multi-stakeholder partnerships
    fold faq

    SESSION 3: PLENARY (16:30-1800)

    16:30-1800 - Reporting from the groups and charting the way forward

    fold faq

    COFFE BREAK

    fold faq

    CULTURAL PROGRAMME FOLLOWED BY DINNER (18:30-20:30)

    More Information

Infographic 2014

Factsheet

Videos





RELATED INFORMATION

Message from the Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova (PDF) 
AR | CH | EN | FR | RU SP |

Celebrations around the world

Show all / Hide all

fold faq

Santiago de Chile

Inclusive programme wins 2014 UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize for Ecuador
Basic education for youth and adults project (EBJA). See Press release

fold faq

Rwanda

This Year, the International Literacy Day is being organized by the Ministry of Education jointly with its partners. During several meetings conducted for preparing this day, they have decided to extend it to International Literacy Week, for  sensitizing all Rwandan (Children in schools, out of school Youth , Adult, parents,...) to develop a reading culture. 

Message in Kinyarwanda (mother tongue) 

fold faq

New Zealand

Literacy, numeracy and sustainable development in Aotearoa New Zealand

The National Centre of Literacy and Numeracy for Adults is Aotearoa New Zealand’s national centre of specialist expertise, promoting literacy and numeracy across the country.  This year they focusing especially on literacy and numeracy for a sustainable future. More

fold faq

Sudan

International Literacy Day (8 Sept) is right around the corner and we have organized a very simple way and meaningful way to have the children benefiting from EiE around the country participate in a literacy activity--which will also help us amplify their voices! .

fold faq

Cambodia

Everyone has rights to literacy and lifelong learning. For more than 65 years, UNESCO has worked with national governments around the world to ensure that literacy remains a development priority. More