Copyright 2006 - UNESCO

Space for Heritage


The UNESCO - ESA Open Initiative on the use of space technologies to support the World Heritage Convention, is a framework permanently open to new partners that are willing to assist UNESCO in its endeavors.
UNESCO embraces an international network of innovative organizations, leading space corporations, space research institutions and talented individuals.

These networks of partners are bringing to developing countries space technologies for the conservation of the world’s cultural and natural heritage.

Space Agencies

  • Argentina: National Commission of Space Activities (CONAE)
  • Belgium: Belgian Federal Science Policy Office (BELSPO)
  • Brazil: National Institute for Space Research (INPE)
  • Canada: Canadian Space Agency (CSA)
  • China: Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
  • Egypt: National Authority for Remote Sensing and Space Sciences (NARSS)
  • European Space Agency (ESA)
  • France: French Space Agency (CNES)
  • Germany: German Aerospace Centre (DLR)
  • India: Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)
  • India: National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC)
  • International Astronautical Federation (IAF)
  • Iraq: Iraq Space Department
  • Japan: Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
  • Jordan: General Organisation of Remote Sensing (GORS)
  • Lebanon: National Council for Scientific Research Lebanon (CNRS)
  • Mongolia: International Institute for Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation - UNESCO Remote Sensing Center (ITCS)
  • Morocco: Royal Centre for Remote Sensing (CRTS)
  • Norway: Norwegian Space Centre (NSC)
  • Poland: Institute of Geodesy and Cartography, Department of Remote Sensing (GMES)
  • Sweden: Swedish National Space Board (SNSB)
  • Turkey: The Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA)
  • USA: National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • USA: Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Californian Institute of Technology (JPL)
  • USA: US Geological Survey (USGS)

Private Sector