UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL)
Project Litbase

Feldbrunnenstr. 58
20148 Hamburg

Tel: +49 40 44 80 410
FAX: +49 40 410 77 23

2015 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

UNESCO is committed to making available knowledge on effective literacy policies and programmes around the world. To promote excellence and innovation in the field of literacy, the organization recognizes the work of institutions, organizations and individuals whose efforts contribute to the promotion of dynamic literate societies. On the occasion of International Literacy Day (8 September), UNESCO awards the International Literacy Prizes to programmes implemented by governments and civil society. The focus for 2015 is on "Literacy and Sustainable Societies".

For the past years, the Effective Literacy and Numeracy Practices Database has featured the winners of the UNESCO Literacy Prizes to disseminate successful programmes and inspire providers and policy makers. Currently, there are two distinct UNESCO Literacy Prizes: the UNESCO King Sejong Prize (2 laureates) and the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 laureates). This year's UNESCO Literacy Prizes Laureates are:

Past UNESCO Literacy Prize Laureates

Since its inception, the Effective Literacy and Numeracy Practices database has featured effective and innovative programmes in the field of Literacy and Basic Skills for youth and adults. Recent UNESCO Literacy Prize Laureates have therefore been included. To learn more about past awardees, please click on the following links: