Programme d’apprentissage des adultes et d’éradication de l’analphabétisme

Profil de pays: Jordanie

Population

5 850 000 (2008)

Langue officielle

arabe

Accès à l'enseignement primaire - Taux net d'admission (TNA)

99% (2003-2006)

Taux d’alphabétisme total des jeunes (15 – 24 ans)

99%

Taux d’alphabétisme des adultes (15 ans et plus, 2007)

92,3 %

Sources

Présentation générale du programme

Titre du programmeProgramme d’apprentissage des adultes et d’éradication de l’analphabétisme
Organisation chargée de la mise en œuvregouvernement de la Jordanie (ministère de l’Éducation)
PartenairesUNESCO, Organisation islamique pour l’éducation, les sciences et la culture (ISESCO) et Organisation arabe pour l’éducation, la culture et les sciences (ALESCO).
Date de création1952 –

Historique et contexte

Depuis le début des années 1950, la Royaume hachémite de Jordanie a consenti des efforts coordonnés de lutte contre l’analphabétisme en mettant en œuvre des mesures stratégiques de développement de l’éducation et en assurant un financement durable de ce développement. Dès 1952, le gouvernement a créé le Programme d’apprentissage des adultes et d’éradication de l’analphabétisme (ALIEP). Ce programme s’adressait initialement au personnel militaire mais il a été, par la suite, élargi à tous les citoyens adultes analphabètes et/ou semi-alphabétisés (âgés de 16 ans et plus) qui, pour diverses raisons socioéconomiques, ont quitté l’école avant d’avoir atteint le niveau souhaité d’alphabétisation fonctionnelle. Grâce à cela, et à d’autres initiatives d’éducation du même ordre (comme la garantie d’une éducation gratuite et obligatoire pour tous les enfants jusqu’à l'âge de 15 ans), le taux d'analphabétisme total du pays a littéralement chuté pour atteindre 7,9 % en 2008, soit 4,1 % des hommes, et 11,4 % des femmes. La Jordanie affiche aujourd’hui les taux d’alphabétisme des jeunes (99 %) et des adultes (89 %) les plus élevés de la région arabe. Malgré cette réussite, le pays reste déterminé à éradiquer l'analphabétisme. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement, par l’intermédiaire du ministère de l’Éducation ,a élargi encore davantage l’ampleur et la portée du programme ALIEP qui est désormais mis en œuvre sur tout le territoire national.

Le programme d’apprentissage des adultes et d’éradication de l’analphabétisme (ALIEP)

Le programme ALIEP est un programme spécialisé dans la formation et l’éducation non formelle des adultes qui a beaucoup évolué depuis sa création en 1952. Au fil des ans, le ministère de l’Éducation a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec diverses parties prenantes, telles que le ministère du Développement social et l’UNESCO, afin d’améliorer le contenu et les méthodes d’enseignement du programme et d’en optimiser ainsi la pertinence et la contribution au développement global du pays. Le programme cible plus particulièrement les régions qui présentent les taux d'analphabétisme les plus élevés, comme celle d’Umm Al-Rassas où ce taux s’élève à environ 20 %.

Image

L’ALIEP est mis en œuvre sur l'ensemble du territoire sous les auspices du ministère de l'Éducation. Il a pour objectif de créer des opportunités d’éducation et de formation pour les adultes analphabètes ou semi-alphabétisés (âgés de 15 ans et plus) qui n’ont reçu aucune éducation de base dans leur enfance. Il a également été élargi aux prisons en complément des programmes déjà existants de réhabilitation des détenus. Par exemple, pendant l’année scolaire 2008-2009, 493 apprenants issus de 15 établissements pénitentiaires ont participé au programme. Ce dernier se base sur un plan d'études intégré et propose une formation de base et une formation continue aux compétences en lecture et en écriture axée en particulier sur les matières suivantes :

Buts et objectifs

Le programme vise à :

D’une manière générale, l'objectif principal du programme est d’instaurer une éducation durable pour tous, en mettant toutefois l’accent sur les personnes socialement défavorisées qui se voient souvent contraintes de quitter rapidement l’école.

Mise en œuvre du programme : approches et méthodologies

La mise en œuvre du programme est réglementée par la loi relative à l’éducation de 1964 et d’autres réglementations et directives afférentes de l’État. Au titre de cette loi, le ministère de l'Éducation est chargé de financer et de coordonner la mise en œuvre du programme. Cela inclut de fournir aux apprenants des supports d'apprentissage gratuits, d'ouvrir des centres d'apprentissage pour adultes et de recruter, former et rémunérer les professeurs et les animateurs qui dispenseront l'enseignement. Le ministère de l’Éducation a parfaitement bien rempli son mandat. Par exemple, pour la seule année scolaire 2007-2008, il a créé environ 500 centres d’apprentissage pour adultes répartis dans le pays (473 centres pour les femmes et 27 centres pour les hommes). Au cours de cette même période, 6 457 apprenants (455 hommes et 6 002 femmes) se sont inscrits dans ces centres et ont obtenu un diplôme.

Image

Le programme est composé de deux phases d’apprentissage : le niveau débutant ou de base et le niveau de suivi ou continu. Il faut 16 mois, soit deux années scolaires, pour terminer chaque niveau. À la fin de chaque niveau d’apprentissage, les apprenants reçoivent des certificats : le certificat du niveau de base correspond au CM1 et le certificat du niveau de suivi correspond à la sixième dans le système éducatif formel. Par conséquent, ALIEP est un programme éducatif accéléré qui permet aux apprenants d’effectuer six années d'éducation de base obligatoire en seulement quatre ans (32 mois). Plus important encore, il a très fortement contribué à faire baisser le taux d'analphabétisme. Par exemple, entre 2001 et 2008, le taux d’analphabétisme total est passé de 11 % à 7,9 %. Au cours de la même période, les taux d'analphabétisme des femmes et des hommes sont passés de 16,2 % à 11,4 % et de 5,6 % à 4,1 % respectivement.

L’enseignement aux apprenants

L’enseignement est basé sur une approche corrective qui identifie et met à profit les précédentes expériences d’apprentissage des apprenants. Les animateurs appliquent des stratégies d’enseignement-apprentissage innovantes, telles que le travail en groupe et l’encadrement individuel, afin d’assurer la perennité des compétences en lecture et en écriture acquises par les apprenants, d’une part, et d’encourager ces derniers à poursuivre les cours, d’autre part.

Outre l’inscription formelle des apprenants adultes aux centres, le programme met en œuvre deux approches d’enseignement-apprentissage novatrices qui visent à favoriser une éducation durable.

La première approche est le programme d’études à domicile (HBSP) dont l’objectif est d’encourager les apprenants ayant quitté le système scolaire formel à poursuivre leur éducation ou leur formation par un auto-apprentissage autonome à la maison. Le HBSP étant calqué sur le programme enseigné dans le système éducatif formel, les apprenants peuvent passer le diplôme de fin d’études secondaires. Ceux qui réussissent l’examen sont ensuite invités à continuer leurs études, soit dans le cadre du programme HBSP, soit au sein du système d'enseignement formel. Comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous, le HBSP a connu un franc succès :

Image

La deuxième approche est le programme d’étude du soir. À l’instar du HBSP, ce programme a pour but de créer des opportunités d’apprentissage pour les personnes socialement défavorisées qui sont sorties du système d'enseignement formel et peuvent avoir des obligations professionnelles pendant la journée. Les cours ont lieu le soir dans des centres d'apprentissage pour adultes et s'adressent aux adultes qui souhaitent poursuivre leur éducation au-delà du niveau de base et à partir de la classe de cinquième jusqu'au niveau secondaire. Comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous, le programme d'études du soir a obtenu d'excellents résultats :

Image

Suivi et évaluation

Le ministère de l’Éducation, par le biais du service d’enseignement non formel, est le seul responsable du suivi et de l’évaluation réguliers du programme. Pour cela, il a désigné des superviseurs en éducation qui travaillent sur le terrain. Ils se rendent fréquemment dans les centres d’apprentissage pour adultes de leurs régions et sont chargés de suivre et d’évaluer le processus d’apprentissage mis en œuvre dans ces centres. Ils offrent également une assistance technique ou des conseils aux professeurs ou aux animateurs afin de veiller à ce que le processus en question soit conforme aux politiques et aux stratégies du ministère.

Impact et réussites

L’ALIEP a énormément contribué au développement du pays en général et, en particulier, à l’autonomisation des personnes défavorisées en améliorant les taux d’alphabétisme. En constituant un réseau de professeurs spécialisés dans l’éducation des adultes, il a créé un vivier de professionnels compétents, extrêmement qualifiés et formés qui mènent aujourd'hui des activités de développement au niveau des communautés.

Image

Concernant le développement de l’éducation, le programme a créé des opportunités d’apprentissage pour les adultes socialement défavorisés et aidé, par voie de conséquence, à résoudre les problèmes d’analphabétisme, de chômage et de productivité limitée qui gangrénaient ces groupes cibles. Il a également ouvert la voie à un apprentissage tout au long de la vie égal pour tous les citoyens du pays qui peuvent désormais poursuivre leur éducation en s'inscrivant dans l'un des nombreux centres d'apprentissage pour adultes répartis sur le territoire, ou en optant pour l'auto-apprentissage à domicile. De la même manière, et sans doute encore plus important, le programme a créé davantage d’opportunités d’éducation pour les femmes qui, en raison de pratiques socioculturelles bien ancrées, ont souvent un accès restreint à l’éducation. Ainsi, alors que 455 hommes se sont inscrits dans les 19 centres d’apprentissage pour adultes créés en 2007-2008, 6 002 femmes se sont inscrites dans les 412 centres d'apprentissage pour les femmes établis au cours de la même période. D’une manière générale, le programme a permis à la Jordanie de lutter contre le fléau de l'analphabétisme et de se rapprocher de la réalisation des objectifs internationaux de l'Éducation pour tous.

Grâce au programme, le pays a également été en mesure de créer de fortes synergies entre les systèmes d'enseignement formel et non formel. L’intégration de ces deux systèmes a permis aux apprenants issus du système d’enseignement non formel d'avoir accès à l'enseignement formel et d'obtenir des qualifications délivrées et sanctionnées par l'État. Les personnes défavorisées ont ainsi pu atteindre des niveaux équivalents à ceux de leurs homologues issus de l’enseignement formel et prendre une part active au développement culturel, économique et social du pays, au même titre que n'importe quel citoyen.

Image

Ce programme génère également des bénéfices sociaux concrets pour les individus et leurs sociétés en mettant l’accent, par exemple, sur des thèmes qui occupent une place centrale dans leur vie quotidienne comme la santé, le développement des communautés, l’écologie, la culture et la religion. Aborder ces sujets fournit aux apprenants les compétences sociales nécessaires non seulement à une coexistence paisible et une gestion ou résolution non violente des conflits, mais également au développement des communautés et à la réduction de la pauvreté.

Au niveau individuel, le programme galvanise la confiance en soi (statut social) et la personnalité des apprenants, ainsi que leurs capacités à mener des activités économiquement plus viables. Ce dernier point les aide à mieux jouer leur rôle de parents ou d'adultes au sein de la société et à mettre un terme à la stigmatisation sociale et à l’absence d’autonomie auxquelles les analphabètes sont souvent confrontés. Le cas de Haya Fares Al-Awadat illustre parfaitement les bienfaits du programme au niveau individuel. Haya Fares Al-Awadat s’était inscrite en tant que débutante dans un centre d'alphabétisation et d'apprentissage des adultes et elle a poursuivi son éducation jusqu'à obtenir une licence en éducation spécialisée. Elle travaille aujourd’hui comme responsable du centre pour handicapés d'Al-Hussinya dans la province de Ma'an. Les exemples de réussite comme celui-ci sont nombreux. Ils montrent que les programmes d’éducation des adultes peuvent être, et sont, un tremplin vers une meilleure mobilité socioéconomique.

Défis

Malgré ces réalisations, le programme se heurte à un certains nombre de difficultés dont voici quelques exemples :

Leçons apprises

Pérennité

La pérennité à long terme du programme ne fait aucun doute principalement parce que le pays, par le biais du ministère de l’Éducation, a fait de l’alphabétisation des adultes une priorité nationale. À cette fin, le système d’enseignement non formel bénéficie du soutien technique et financier sans faille du gouvernement. Le pays a également signé des accords avec les principales parties prenantes internationales telles que l’UNESCO, l’ISESCO et l’ALESCO, garantissant ainsi la durabilité de la plupart des initiatives d’éducation.

Par ailleurs, la plupart des apprenants sont fermement décidés à reprendre et à poursuivre leurs études afin, par exemple, de pouvoir mieux lire et comprendre le Coran. Par conséquent, les programmes d'apprentissage pour les adultes bénéficient d’un fort soutien de la communauté qui veille également à en garantir le succès.

Sources

Contact

M. Abdullah Al-Naser, directeur du service d’enseignement non formel
Adresse : Amman, Jordanie
Téléphone : 00962-777553067 (portable)
Fax : 00962-6-5683137
Courriel : abdullah.al-naser (at) moe.gov.jo

Dernière mise à jour: 2 février 2012

Adult Learning and Illiteracy Elimination Programme

Country Profile: Jordan

Population

6,731,000 (2011)

Official Language

Arabic

Poverty (Population living on less than US$2 per day)

1.6% (2011)

Total expenditure on education as % of GDP

Access to primary education, total net enrolment rate (NIR)

98.0% (2011)

Total youth literacy rate (15 – 24 years)

Total: 99.1% (2011)
Male: 99.1%
Female: 99.3%

Adult literacy rate (15 years and over)

Total: 95.5% (2011)
Male: 97.7%
Female: 93.3%

Statistical sources

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

Programme Overview

Programme TitleAdult Learning and Illiteracy Elimination Programme
Implementing OrganizationGovernment of the the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan (Ministry of Education)
Language of InstructionArabic
Programme PartnersUNESCO, Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO) and Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO).
Date of Inception1952 –

Background and Context

Since the early 1950s, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan has made concerted efforts to combat illiteracy through the implementation of strategic policies for and sustained investment in educational development. As early as 1952, the Government instituted the Adult Learning and Illiteracy Elimination Programme (ALIEP). This programme initially targeted military personnel but was later broadened to include all illiterate and / or semi-literate adult citizens (aged 16 years and above) who, because of a variety of socio-economic challenges, dropped-out of school before achieving optimum levels of functional literacy. Because of this and other related educational programme (such as the provision of free and compulsory education for people aged 15 years and below), total illiteracy rates in the country had dramatically dropped to 7,7 % by 2008, of which males and females constituted 4,1% and 11, 4% respectively. Currently, the Kingdom has the highest levels of literacy for youth (99%) and adults (89%) in the Arab region. Despite these impressive achievements, the Kingdom remains committed to completely eradicate illiteracy. To this end, the Government through the Ministry of Education (MoE) has further expanded the scope and reach of the ALIEP, which is now being implemented across the entire nation.

The Adult Education and Illiteracy Elimination Programme (ALIEP)

The ALIEP is a specialized non-formal adult education or training programme that has matured significantly since its inception in 1952. Over the years, the MoE has worked closely with various stakeholders such as the Ministry of Social Development and UNESCO to improve the programme curricula and teaching methods in order to optimize its relevance and contribution to broader national development. The programme particularly targets regions with the highest rates of illiteracy such as the Umm Al-Rassas County where illiteracy rates are about 20%.

Image

The ALIEP is being implemented nationwide under the auspices of the MoE and aims to create education and training opportunities for illiterate or semi-literate adults (aged 15 years and above) who were deprived of basic education in their youth. It has also been extended to prisons to compliment existing rehabilitation programme for prisoners. For example, during the 2008-2009 school year, 15 prison centres had a total enrolment of 493 learners. The programme is based on an integrated curriculum, offering basic and continuous literacy skills training with particular emphasis on the following subjects:

Aims and Objectives:

The programme aims to:

Overall, the primary goal of the programme is to foster sustainable educational training for all but particularly the socially disadvantaged who are often forced to drop-out of school at an early stage.

Programme Implementation: Approaches and Methodologies

Image

The implementation of the programme is regulated by the Educational Act (1964) and other related and complimentary State regulations and directives. The Educational Act empowers the MoE to fund and coordinate the implementation of the programme including providing learners with free learning materials, establishing adult learning centres and recruiting, training and paying of adult literacy teachers or facilitators. Over the years, the MoE has impressively executed its mandate and has, for example, established about 500 adult learning centres across the country during 2007-2008 learning calendar alone, of which 473 and 27 centres were for females and males respectively. During the same period 6 457 learners (455 males and 6002 females) were enrolled by and graduated from the centres.

The programme is divided into two learning phases: the beginners or basic and the follow-up or continuous stage, each of which is completed over 16 months or two school years. Upon completion of each learning stage, learners are awarded certificates which are equivalent to the fourth grade and sixth grade in the formal education system for the basic and follow-up levels, respectively. Essentially therefore, the ALIEP is an accelerated educational programme which enables learners to finish six years of compulsory basic education in four years (32 months). Most importantly, the programme has been instrumental in reducing illiteracy over the years. For example, between 2001 and 2008, the total rate of illiteracy dropped from 11% to 7,7%. During the same period, illiteracy rates for females and males dropped from 16,2% to 11,4% and 5,6% to 4,1%, respectively.

Teaching of Learners

Teaching is based on a remedial teaching approach which recognizes and builds on the learners’ past learning experiences. To this end, programme facilitators employ innovative teaching-learning strategies such as group work, individual mentoring, in order to ensure the sustainability of both the learner’s acquired literacy skills as well as to encourage learners to continue attending classes.

Apart from formal enrolment of adult learners at the centres, the programme employs two innovative teaching-learning approaches that are intended to encourage sustainable education of adult learners.

One such innovative strategy is the Home-Based Studies Programme (HBSP) which is intended to encourage learners who dropped-out of the formal school system to continue their education or training through home-based self-learning. The HBSP is based on the formal education curricula and as such, learners are eligible to sit for the official General Secondary Certificate Examinations (GSCE). Those who pass the GSCE are encouraged to enrol for further studies, either by continuing to study under the HBSP or by rejoining the formal education system. The HBSP has been a resounding success as the table below indicates:

Image

The second training approach is the Evening Studies programme. Like the HBSP, the evening studies method is intended to create learning opportunities for socially disadvantaged people who dropped-out of the formal education system and may have day-time labour obligations to fulfil. Under the programme, classes are conducted at adult learning centres during the evenings to serve learners who want to continue their education after the basic literacy stage and from the seventh grade to secondary level. The results of the Evening Studies programme have been impressive over the years as shown in the table below:

Image

Programme Impact and Challenges

Monitoring and Evaluation

The MoE, through the Non-formal Education Division, has the sole responsibility of monitoring and evaluating the programme on an ongoing basis. To this end, the MoE has appointed field-based educational supervisors. These supervisors undertake periodic field visits to adult learning centres in their region and have the responsibility of monitoring and regulating the learning process at the centres as well as offering technical assistance or advise to teachers or facilitators in order ensure that the learning process is in line the Ministry’s policies and strategies.

Impact and Achievements

The ALIEP has made immense contributions towards national development in general and in particular, towards the empowerment of underprivileged people by improving literacy rates. Through a strategy of training a network of adult education teachers, the programme has created a pool of competent, well-qualified and highly trained workforce that is now spearheading community development activities.

Image

With regards to educational development, the programme has created learning opportunities for socially disadvantaged adults and thus helped to solve the problem of illiteracy, unemployment and limited productivity among this target group. It has also created equal life-long learning opportunities for all citizens in the Kingdom who are now able to continue with their education by enrolling in various adult learning centres that have been established across the country or through home-based self-learning. Equally and perhaps more importantly, the programme has created more educational opportunities for women who often have limited access to education due to entrenched socio-cultural practices. Thus, for example, whereas 455 males were enrolled into the 19 adult learning centres that were established in 2007-2008, 6002 females were enrolled into 412 adult female learning centres that were established over the same period. Overall, the programme has enabled Kingdom of Jordan to combat the scourge of illiteracy as well as to move close to achieving the internationally sanctioned “Education for All” goals.

Moreover, the programme has enabled the Kingdom to create strong synergies between the formal and non-formal education systems. The integration of the two systems has enabled learners from the non-formal sector to eventually rejoin and gain qualifications that are administered and sanctioned by the State just like as it is for learners following the formal education system. This integration has enabled hitherto disadvantaged people to gain equivalent qualifications with their counterparts in the formal education sector, an approach which has enabled the former to effectively participate in the cultural, economic and social development of the Kingdom like every other citizen.

Image

The programme also has concrete social benefits as it focuses on both individuals and their societies by emphasizing, for example, health, community building, environmental, culture and religious subjects which are central to people’s everyday lives. These subjects equip learners with social skills necessary not only for peaceful co-existence and non-violent conflict resolution or management but also for community development and poverty reduction.

At an individual level, the programme enhances the learner’s self-esteem (social standing), personality, and ability to undertake more viable economic activities; the latter helps them to accomplish their roles as parents or adults in society. It also helps to ameliorate the social stigma and incapacity to function independently that illiterate people often face. The benefits of the programme at an individual level are aptly highlighted by the case of Haya Fares Al-Awadat who enrolled in one of the adults' learning and literacy centres at the beginners’ stage but went on to obtain bachelor’s degree in Special Education. Currently, she is working as the manager of the Handicapped Centre in Al-Hussinya county in Ma'an Province. Success cases like the one sighted above are many and therefore serve to show that adult education programmes can and are indeed a vehicle for upward socio-economic mobility.

Challenges

Despite its achievements, the programme is also bedevilled with a number of challenges. These include:

Lessons Learned

Sustainability

The long-term sustainability of the programme is not in doubt because, first and foremost, the Kingdom through the MoE is highly committed to the literacy challenge nationally. To this end, the non-formal educational sector has continued to receive sustained technical and financial support from the government. The Kingdom has also signed agreements with key international stakeholders such as UNESCO, ISESCO and ALECSO which has ensured the sustainability of most educational programmes.

Secondly, most learners are strongly self-motivated to resume and continue with their studies in order to, for example, enhance their ability to read and understand the Holy Quraan. As such, there is strong community support for and commitment to ensure the success of adult learning programmes.

Sources

Contact Details

Mr. Abdullah Al-Naser
Position: Head of Non-formal Education Division
Address: Jordan-Amman
Phone: mobile: 00962-777553067
Fax: 00962-6-5683137
Email contact: abdullah.al-naser (at) moe.gov.jo

Last update: 3 February 2012