Serbia to host regional meeting of the National Commissions for UNESCO

On 18-19 March 2014, the Commission of the Republic of Serbia for UNESCO is organizing a meeting with representatives of National Commissions for UNESCO from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.

In representation of the UNESCO Regional Bureau for Science and Culture in Europe Venice (Italy), Philippe Pypaert, Programme Specialist, Science Unit, and Matteo Rosati, Programme Officer, Culture Unit, will participate in this meeting.

The meeting will especially aim at sharing experiences and discussing priorities on the enhancement of regional cooperation on topics under the mandate of UNESCO, also with regard to the further advancement of the various regional cooperation platforms and transnational initiatives/projects.

The event will be accompanied by a rich cultural programme, including visits to the Orthodox Monastery of Bodjani, the Fortress of Bač and the Franciscan Monastery of Bač.

* * * * *

UNESCO is the only UN Agency to have a global network of national cooperating bodies known as National Commissions for UNESCO. National Commissions make part of the overall constitutional architecture of the Organization.

Presently, there are 199 National Commissions for UNESCO across the world. They constitute a truly global family with as an authoritative network of stakeholders, partners and experts and offer a comparative advantage to the Organization within the United Nations system. This network plays a significant role in the liaison with partners, the coordination of activities and the promotion of UNESCO’s visibility at the country level.