UNESCO is seeking nominations for the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2022

UNESCO invites the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations, active in the field of journalism and press freedom, to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

This Prize was established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. Its purpose is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.

Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a global ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$ 25,000.

World Press Freedom Day 2022 will take place in Punta del Este, Uruguay, on 3 May 2022.

The Prize is funded by the Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland), the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia) and Democracy & Media Foundation Stichting Democratie & Media (The Netherlands).

How to submit your nomination

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form, in English or in French, and sending it before 15 February 2022 by post or by e-mail to:

Communication and Information Sector
Freedom of Expression and Safety of Journalists Section
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris


For more information, you may also consult the rules of the Prize.