The representation of UNESCO in Doha was established in 1976 and originally covered six countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. A seventh country, Yemen, joined in late 2009.
It works through and in cooperation with the National Commissions for UNESCO in each country and partner networks in its fields of competence. This includes government partners, members of the UN family, other intergovernmental organizations, NGOs, experts and researches, private sector companies, foundations, media outlets, and other specialized institutions.


Get involved with UNESCO

Take a stance and help us bring change!

UNESCO Sites & Designations in the Arab Region

World Heritage Sites

in the Arab Region

Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

and Safeguarding practices in the Arab region

Endangered Languages

registered by Arab States are being monitored

Biosphere Reserves

in the Arab region

Creative cities

in the Arab region

Heritage documentaries

in the Arab region listed on the Memory of the World Register


Access our pubications catalogue

and learn more about our actions and work at UNESCO Gulf States & Yemen