UNESCO Harare was initially established in 1986 as a sub-regional office for education in Southern Africa, with a special emphasis on higher education. Since then, it has also played the role of cluster office, covering four countries (Botswana, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe) and since 2014 as UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa (ROSA), covering all of UNESCO’s programme sectors in nine countries, namely Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The office serves as UNESCO’s focal point for cooperation with the Southern African Development Community (SADC) as well as for the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

UNESCO Recommendation on Open Educational Resources (OER)

in Eastern and Southern Africa

Youth in the Southern African liberation struggles and beyond

Respecting the past, building the future

Meron Shegene

Get involved with UNESCO

Take a stance and help us bring change!

UNESCO Sites & Designations in the Region

World Heritage Sites

in the Region

Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

and Safeguarding practices in the Region

Endangered Languages

registered by African States are being monitored

Biosphere Reserves

in the Region

Creative cities

in the Region

Heritage documentaries

in the Region listed on the Memory of the World Register (MoW)


Access our publications catalogue

and learn more about our actions and work at UNESCO Harare