The Jury consists of six independent members, representing all types of media including digital media, one from each of the six regions as defined by UNESCO, in other words six persons appointed in their individual capacity by the Director-General of UNESCO for a period of three years, renewable once.

The UNESCO Director-General appoints the President of the Jury. The working languages for the Jury’s deliberations are English and French; Jury members deliberate by electronic means. Only one prize winner will be recommended to the Director-General of UNESCO.

Jury 2022

Mae Azango (Liberia)
Senior Reporter, Front Page Africa and Liberia Director, New Narratives
Alfred Lela (Albania), President of the Jury
Founder and Director, Politiko.al; Host of Politiko (talk show) on Top News
Zainab Salbi (Iraq)
Journalist, Through her Eyes with Zainab Salbi
Yasuomi Sawa (Japan)
Professor at the Department of Journalism of Senshu University and Investigative Journalist
Margo Smit (Netherlands)
Journalistic ombudsman of the Dutch public broadcasting system
Mauricio Weibel (Chile)
Editor of the journalistic investigation area of the television channel La Red