call for 2022 literacy prizes

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. 506 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korean it gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development.
Each prizewinner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.
- Read the statutes.

  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

Established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China, it gives special consideration functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.
Each prizewinner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30.000.
 - Read the statutes.

Application and nomination process

The 2022 call for applications is now closed.

Puku Children's Literature Foundation in South Africa


UNESCO International Literacy Prizes: call for applications and nominations 2022
UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021: inclusive distance and digital literacy learning; trend analysis of nominated applications