Social and Human Sciences

Culture of peace

Faces of Dove - UNESCO Prize for Peace Education. ©UNESCO TV 2008
Faces of Dove - UNESCO Prize for Peace Education

Share this content:
Language(s): English

Summary/Historical Context

A documentary about the UNESCO Prize for Peace Education from 1981 to 2001. It briefly introduces the following recipients of the prize:

2001: Pierre Weile France), Ms Christiana Ayoka Mary Thorpe (Sierra Leone), Middle East Children Association (Israel)
2000: Australian Peace Educator Toh Swee-Hin
1999: Asociación Madres de Plaza de Mayo, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Honourable mention: Verein für Friedenspädagogik, Tübingen (Germany) 1998: Educators for Peace and Mutual Understanding (Ukraine)
Honourable mention: Fridtjof Nansen Academy (Norway), World Court Project (New Zealand), Ulpan Akiva Netanya (Israel) 1997: Francois Giraud (France)
1996: Chiara Lubich (Italy)
1995: Study Center for Peace and Conflict Resolution (Austria)
1994: The Venerable Prayudh Payutto (Thailand)
1993: Madeleine de Vits (Belgium) and Graduate Institute of Peace Studies at Kyung Hee University (South Korea)
1992: Mother Teresa
1991: Ruth Leger Sivard (USA) / Cours Sainte Marie de Hann (Senegal)
1990: Rigoberta Menchú Tum (Guatemala) / World Order Models Project (WOMP)
1989: Dr. Robert Muller (France) / International Peace Research Association (IPRA)
1988: Frère Roger, Taizé (France)
1987: Laurence Deonna (Switzerland) / "Servicio Paz y Justicia en America Latina"
1986: Prof. Paulo Freire (Brazil)
1985: General Indar Jit Rikhye (India) / Georg-Eckert-Institut für Internationale Schulbuchforschung (Germany)
1984: IPPNW International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
1983: Pax Christi International
1982: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
1981: Helena Kekkonen (Finland) / World Organization of the Scout Movement

Type: Documentary
Authors and personalities: Jean-Michel Kuess, director. Christopher Gregory Weeramantry, participant ; Emile Shoufani, participant ; Bishop Nelson Onono Onweng, participant ; Toh Swee-Hin, participant ; Madres de Plaza de Mayo, participant ; Ulpan Akiva Netanya, participant ; Francois Giraud, participant ; Chiara Lubich, participant ; Prayudh Payutto, participant ; Madeleine de Vits, participant ; Mother Teresa, participant ; Ruth Leger Sivard, participant ; Rigoberta Menchú, participant.
Production: UNESCO TV, producer.Nippon Foundation, sponsor ; UNESCO Social and Human Sciences Sector, sponsor.
Published in:

back to previous » Go to the main record where you will find more information and search options/Consultez la notice principale où vous trouverez des informations plus détaillées sur ce document.

Find Content
(OPTIONAL) Only in:
Audio recordings
Search by name of country or region