Communication and Information

World heritage

Loading the player...
UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2019

Share this content:
Language: English
Related material that you
may also like:
Awards Opens in new window
Freedom of the press Opens in new window
Journalism Opens in new window
Freedom of expression Opens in new window
Guillermo Cano
World Press Freedom

Created in 1997, the annual UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize honours a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and, or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, and especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.
Journalists Kyaw Soe Oo and Wa Lone (Myanmar) shared the prize for the year 2019, following the recommendation by an international jury of media professionals.

on this subject: World Press Freedom Day

Place/region: Myanmar, UNESCO HQ
Type: Promotional material
Production and personalities:
Participant: Kyaw Soe Oo, Wa Lone
Publisher: Fundacion Guillermo Cano Isaza; UNESCO Sponsor: Helsingin Sanomat Foundation; Namibia Media Trust (NMT)
Published in:
Rights: CC-By-SA

Request embed code for your website