Find content
eg: title, city, activity, people
OPTIONAL - Only in:
OR search by:
Questions, Answers and VOD
For content providers

Responsive image

L’Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science 2018

Language: Multilingual

This edition marks the 20th anniversary of this successful partnership, founded to support women scientists and address the gender bias in science.

Over the past 20 years, the percentage of women working in science has increased by about 12%, but it remains too low: less than 30% of researchers are women. The glass ceiling still exists; women hold only 11 % of academic leadership positions in Europe. Only 3% of Nobel Prizes for Science have ever been awarded to women, and only one woman has been awarded the Fields medal in mathematics since its creation in 1936. This under-representation of women impacts the very quality of scientific research. For example, studies show that the lack of diversity in the sector of artificial intelligence has led to the development of software that reproduces, or even magnifies stereotypes, especially those related to gender.
The award ceremony took place on 23 March 2018 at UNESCO headquarters in Paris

This material cannot be posted online in full. It is available for consultation in our Reading Room or, when indicated, via Video on Demand (VOD)

Topics and Tags
Place/region: Argentina, Canada, China, South Africa, United Kingdom, UNESCO HQ
Type: Video report
Extract: 14 min. Total length:
Production and personalities:
Participant: Heather Zar, Meemann Chang, Caroline Dean, Amy T. Austin, Janet Rossant, Audrey Azoulay, Jean Paul Agon, Tebello Nyokong, Anne Pepin
Publisher: UNESCO; L'Oréal Foundation
Published in:
Rights: CC-BY-SA

Original: Video.MP4
Location: EV only
UMVS reference: SYNAV-2018-03-22-015353-YTB
Rights holder: l'Oreal Foundation; UNESCO